Maryland Graduated Licensing System "The Rookie Driver", The Maryland Graduated Licensing System, these laws apply to non-commercial driver license applicants, depending on their age, who have never held a license in Maryland or any other state for less than 18 months.
The program requires novice drivers to gain more driving experience with a supervising driver and gradually move up through the licensing process until full license status is achieved. Under the graduated licensing system, non-commercial license applicants, who have never held a drivers license must progress through three licensing levels:
Level 1 - Learners Permit Note:Effective October 1, 2012 an individual at least 25 years old who holds a learner’s permit and has not been convicted of or granted Probation Before Judgment (PBJ) for a moving violation, is eligible to take a skills driving test after holding this permit for a minimum of 45 days if they:
Have completed a Maryland MVA approved standardized driver education program consisting of at least 30 hours of classroom instruction and at least 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction training and;
Have completed an additional minimum of at least 14 hours of supervised behind the wheel driving (3 hours of which must occur during the period beginning 30 minutes before sunset and ending 30 minutes after sunrise) and have an eligible supervising driver complete a Practice Skills log and certification page .
Created and Managed by Drivers Edu. Driving School 5335 Reisterstown Road, Baltimore MD 21215 Phone: 410-764-1133, Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Office Hours: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday 9:00AM - 5:00PM & Saturdays by Appointment Only